‘Make works of immediate national impact’ – PAJ

| Written by Arlyn VCD Palisoc Romualdo

UP President Angelo A. Jimenez addresses the recipients of the UP President Edgardo J. Angara (UPPEJA) Fellowship Awards. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)

“Our lawmakers, and the people they represent, await the fruits of your labor, your commitment, and your passion.” This is what UP President Angelo A. Jimenez (PAJ) told the 23 recipients of the recently-revived UP President Edgardo J. Angara (UPPEJA) Fellowship Awards in the ceremony held at the Philippine Senate on September 26. The award, PAJ said, was “an opportunity to make works of immediate national impact.” The fellows are Filipino scholars from universities, think tanks, and organizations here and abroad.

The 19 UPPEJA-awarded research projects cover a wide range of education- and education reform-related topics. These were selected based on priority areas identified by the Second Congressional Commission on Education or EDCOM II: school infrastructure; access to quality higher education; needs-based system projecting the demands in workers’ upskilling; ensuring seamless and integrated delivery of education; complementarity between public and private education; integrated performance management and accountability system; efficiency in education financing and resource mobilization, and equity in the delivery of education; and decentralization, quality of education governance, and participatory governance.

One of the fellows, National Scientist and UP Manila Chancellor Carmecita D. Padilla, shared that she is “reviewing the gaps in the supply and demand for health human resources, assessing the health care system, and making recommendations to address the findings.” Another, Prof. John Paul C. Vergara of the Ateneo de Manila University, is looking into “generative artificial intelligence and how it will make an impact on higher education.” Riz Supreme B. Comia of WeSolve Foundation, meanwhile said that she and her research partner, Kenneth Isaiah I. Abante, are studying “the players and the special education fund and how participatory governance may be achieved in this area of the education system.”

The Fellowship runs from 26 July 2023 to 30 June 2024 with a research grant of P500,000. Below are the awardees.

  1. Kenneth Isaiah I. Abante and Riz Supreme B. Comia, WeSolve Foundation
  2. Michael Alba, Far Eastern University
  3. Cleve V. Arguelles, De La Salle University and Joel Paulin Mendoza, World Bank
  4. Lisa Grace S. Bersales, 91Ƶ
  5. Krista Danielle S. Yu, De La Salle University and Dr. Michael R. Cabalfin, Philippine Institute for Development Studies
  6. Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng, Ateneo de Manila University
  7. Geoffrey Ducanes, Ateneo de Manila University
  8. Ma. Regina M. Hechanova-Alampay, Ateneo de Manila University
  9. Enrique Nino P. Leviste and Dr. Ma. Glenda Lopez Wui, Ateneo de Manila University
  10. Elizabeth M. King, Georgetown University
  11. Rosario G. Manasan, Asian Development Bank
  12. Carolyn Medel-Añonuevo, UNESCO Regional Office for Southern Africa
  13. Dina S. Ocampo, 91Ƶ
  14. Carmencita D. Padilla, 91Ƶ
  15. Maria Mercedes T. Rodrigo, Ateneo de Manila University
  16. Luis G. Sison, 91Ƶ
  17. Luis Rey I. Velasco, 91Ƶ
  18. John Paul C. Vergara, Ateneo de Manila University
  19. Felicia Yeban, Philippine Normal University
The awardees (bottom row) with EDCOM II co-chairpersons, commissioners, technical secretariat, and advisers; Angara family; and former and current UP officials (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


From left: Awardees Riz Supreme B. Comia and Kenneth Isaiah I. Abante of WeSolve Foundation chat with UP President Angelo A. Jimenez. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


EDCOM II Co-chairperson and Senate Committee on Basic Education chair, Senator Sherwin T. Gatchalian delivers the welcome remarks. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


EDCOM II Advisory Council for Academe member, Dr. Maria Cynthia Rose B. Bautista gives a brief background on the UP President Edgardo J. Angara (UPPEJA) Fellowship Awards. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


EDCOM II Executive Director Karol Mark R. Yee provides the overview on the awardees. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


Senator Juan Edgardo M. Angara (left) listens as UP President Angelo A. Jimenez (middle) engages Senator Sherwin T. Gatchalian (right) in a lively discussion. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


Senator Juan Edgardo M. Angara, EDCOM II commissioner and a member of the Fellowship committee, talks briefly about his father, after whom the fellowship is named. The awards ceremony was held two days after the late senator’s birth anniversary. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


UP President Angelo A. Jimenez sits in the gallery with the UPPEJA fellows, listening intently to the discussion of the Senate resolution congratulating the awardees. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)


The Angara family, senators, EDCOM II members, UP officials, and awardees pose for a photo after Senate Resolution No. 812 was unanimously approved. (Photo by Misael A. Bacani, UP MPRO)